Book Tour News

Sorry I’ve been so quiet lately. I’ve been working with the fantastic marketing and publicity team at Graywolf on a book tour, about which I’m both excited and nervous. People in publishing are somewhat mixed about book tours, which can be expensive and difficult to schedule, especially for a new writer. 

Rebecca Skloot, author of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, wrote an encouraging piece  in Publishers Weekly about planning her “Immortal Book Tour” with her dad. Although her publisher and agent thought publicity dollars were better spent on advertising, Ms. Skloot wanted to connect with readers, so she worked with her father and Google Maps to create a tour herself (and she’s still doing events). Stephen Elliott, author of The Adderall Diaries and editor of The Rumpus, published an essay in the New York Times about his 33-city “D.I.Y. Book Tour,” which featured many readings in people’s houses (including a stop in Chesterfield, Virginia). Both writers expressed their desire to meet and connect with readers, and I feel the same–despite my nervousness, I’m excited to meet people and talk about books and writing. So starting in June, I’ll be traveling to book stores, libraries, literary festivals, and universities to read from and discuss Mattaponi Queen, share some homemade jams and pickles (more about this soon), and visit with far-flung friends. Click here to see the events we’ve scheduled so far.

And I have more posts coming soon–about Walkerton, goats, and a cool book about life in Chatham County in the 1970s.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Book Tour News

  1. Erin K.

    We [heart] you, Belle. Can’t wait for Printers Row!

  2. Leightongirl

    I wish you were coming to LA! And the cover–WOW! I hadn’t seen it yet. It’s beautiful. Can’t wait.

  3. Belle Boggs

    Thanks, Erin–I’m excited for Printers Row too! Vicki, I do think I’m coming to LA–in the fall. I’ll keep you posted…

Leave a Reply

