Dress Barn

Before my North Carolina readings this week, I went home to Walkerton to pick up my mom. She’d found a bunch of beautiful old debutante dresses stuffed in this hamper in Mrs. Walker’s pole barn:

We aired them out on the clothesline:

 

Of course I had to try some of them on:

My mom tried them too:

Then we went to the boat landing and put our feet in the water:

It was a nice way to relax before the readings. Here’s what the Mattaponi looks like this time of year in Walkerton:

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Dress Barn

  1. I love the dresses!!! What great pictures. 🙂

  2. V.

    Will you be wearing them to the readings?!

  3. Marisa

    LOVE the yellow one! I think you should wear it to Printer’s Row. 🙂

  4. pat hoppe

    The dresses remind me of prom circa 1963 or so; my mom had an organza dress sewn for me; I think I still may have it! I need to gather up all my old dresses from my “years of teaching” and make them into a quilt. Of course, I have not saved ALL of them!! Love to you!

Leave a Reply

