Friday Links

Part of my Little Women doll collection (mentioned on Shelf Awareness), all jumbled up in a cabinet in Walkerton; that's Meg and Beth in front, and Jackie Kennedy hanging out in the back corner in her inaugural finery.

Kevin Larimer, editor of the ever-useful and interesting Poets & Writers (which featured me among their five debut fiction writers this summer), asked me to write  a post about my experiences with literary agents on their Agent Action blog. You can read my reflection on what I did wrong and how I wish things worked here. The June/July issue also features a story on the book-making robot I met in Cambridge and some sort of scary tales about the publishing industry–you should check it out!

The Richmond Times-Dispatch ran an article about Locust Grove.

I was a Book Brahmin on Shelf Awareness last week; click here for my Q&A on books I’ve loved and books I’ve pretended to read. 

Mattaponi Queen was an “editor’s choice” on the Printers Row book blog hosted by the Chicago Tribune.

Also, what I’ve just finished rereading: A Hope in the Unseen: An American Odyssey from the Inner City to the Ivy League by Ron Suskind. Such a wonderful work of journalism–I’m planning to teach it in my 11th grade class next year. If you haven’t read it, it makes a great summer read or an excellent present for a teacher.

Finally, if you are a fan of The Moth, I can recommend The Monti, Durham’s version of the popular unscripted storytelling series. We have all kinds of famous literary people here, and other interesting people with good stories. I spent an entire morning this week listening to the finalists for their Hippo Awards. My favorite storyteller was Jill McCorkle, but they were all great. The Monti will have a radio special on WUNC this Sunday at 6:30 P.M. I’m planning to download it for my car trip to Richmond on Monday.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Friday Links

  1. V.

    Great post about agents and the business. Thanks! And congrats on being a book brahmin and the editor’s choice selection. You’re on a roll.

Leave a Reply

