Friday Links

I wrote about books and stories I love in the classroom (and on my bedside table) in The Book Lady’s Blog today. My picks include Frog and Toad by Arnold Lobel, In the Shadow of Man by Jane Goodall, I Remember by Joe Brainard, and the stories of The Monti and The Moth.

This weekend is Can-a-Rama 2010. It’s really hot, so maybe I’ll make some freezer jam?

My friends at Roulette Vintage are hosting an old-fashioned cakewalk and contest this Sunday! I’m excited to go to a cakewalk, and lord knows I love a contest, but turning on the oven is not very appealing. I think I might try Martha Stewart’s no-bake cheesecake from the August issue (not very Southern, but still a cake! And no baking!). My mom commented today that someone should donate Martha Stewart Living to mental institutions because “it’s so orderly.”  We particularly love her calendar.

Doug Solter very helpfully put together advice, culled from a popular Twitter discussion this week, on how to impress booksellers.

Graywolf’s July newsletter offers a good deal on J. Robert Lennon books, Per Petterson tour dates, plus a preview of two new books in the Art of series.

You should read this piece from The Institute for Southern Studies, “The Real Story of Racism at the USDA.”

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Friday Links

  1. Thanks for the mention Belle! Glad my post was helpful.

    All the best.

  2. Belle Boggs

    Thanks for compiling the post, Doug! Now to write my thank-you notes…

Leave a Reply

