Cute Stuff in My Yard, and New Work

Just so you know it isn’t all propane tanks and old car parts:

I also wanted to share a new story that has been up for a little while on Blackbird. I’m honored to be included in the fall issue with Clifford Garstang, fellow Bakeless winner Nick Lantz, and so many other talented writers. Blackbird, which is published by VCU’s English department and New Virginia Review, is a great place to read new and established writers, and they have a terrific online archive of poetry, fiction, and nonfiction.

Please click here to read “Death Panel.” It was inspired by the play God of Carnage, which Sky and I took our parents to see in 2009. My mom and I got the idea to write a play about her family, but about the farthest we got was the set–my grandmother’s living room, with an armchair and a Christmas tree decorated with a deflated Easter balloon–and the general mood. So I wrote a story instead.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

