Friday Links

Last week, the Hinge Literary Center co-hosted a reading (with the Regulator Bookshop and the North Carolina Arts Council) for Edith Pearlman, author of the National Book Critics Circle Award-winning collection, Binocular Vision. (Pictured above are Anne Raeff, Jon Mozes, Emily Smith, Edith Pearlman, Lori Ostlund, Ellen Bush, and me.) Edith’s book is one of the best things I’ve read in a long time, and her reading was wonderful; click here to read “The Story” on the Hinge’s website.

I’ve just started Boleto by Alyson Hagy and feeling sad I don’t have it with me at the moment. You can enter to win a free copy today from The Quivering Pen, or check out Graywolf’s website for Alyson’s tour dates.

After my Diane Rehm show interview, “The Art of Waiting” wound up in a few places this week:

-in New York Magazine’s “Approval Matrix” (the highbrow/brilliant side!)

-on Longreads

-on Andrew Sullivan’s blog on The Daily Beast

(And you can also read the slightly shorter version in this month’s Harper’s.)

Thank you to everyone who read my essay and offered encouragement before and after the Diane Rehm show interview. I’m working on research for some related writing and also an unrelated new essay (on science education) for Orion; I’ll share more about that soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

